polewpara.blogg.se

Civil war us navy presentation sword
Civil war us navy presentation sword









civil war us navy presentation sword

Civil War battlefield.īannerman's is the company you are thinking of.Īs for an 1865 sword being used before May 1865: I don't know. A sword manufactured in 1865 never saw a U.S. I can't remember the name of the Army surplus store that bought all the government surplus but they armed half of the South American revolts in the late 1800s to early 1900s. Often times they were modified by bending or having the hand guard enclosed for various movies. Hollywood bought up tons of them to use in movies. At the end of the Civil War there were literally thousands of swords which had never been issued. If all the swords manufactured during the Civil War were issued half of the Union Army would have been dragging swords around. The larger dents - according to what I read in various sources, have a lot to do with the scabbard being prone to bending during combat when the sword is withdrawn. In addition to the dents, the scabbard I got today has some small nicks near the bottom: those pretty much match up to the soldier's boot heel - and spurs. So for my fellow cavalry saber virgins, why the dents? Well consider where the cavalry officer wears the sword: Now those of you with knowledge of cavalry sabers know all about this, but for the rest of us, it can be a surprise.

civil war us navy presentation sword

As my daddy never said, "Never bring a scabbard to a sword fight."īut as I started looking online at other Emerson & Silver Model 1860's for sale or sold, I found that many of them also had these dents. Well that didn't make sense since you'd use the sword itself for that and the scabbard attached to your belt would be awkward, to say the least, to use. The guy who sold it to me said he was told that someone had used it to defend himself in a sword fight. The last Civil War sword I found was in August 2011 and it too was made in New Jersey, by Sauerbrier in Newark ( see ) It was not a cavalry saber and did not have a scabbard, so when I was offered this Emerson & Silver I was glad it had a scabbard but concerned that it was dented.











Civil war us navy presentation sword